Australia’s Warner to Skip India T20I Series

Tue Nov 21 2023
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

SYDNEY: Australia’s preparation for the upcoming T20I series against India has hit a snag as seasoned opener David Warner has opted to return home, sidelining himself from the five-match series.

Warner, a linchpin in Australia’s recent triumph at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, contributed significantly with a formidable 535 runs at an impressive average of 48.63 during Pat Cummins’ leadership.

Initially anticipated to extend his stay in the subcontinent for the T20I battles against India, Warner has chosen to depart, impacting Australia’s lineup.

“Selectors determined that Warner would head home following a taxing yet successful World Cup campaign,” Cricket Australia conveyed in an official statement.

In his absence, emerging all-rounder Aaron Hardie steps into Australia’s squad, while the responsibility of captaincy falls upon Matthew Wade’s shoulders with Cummins also absent.

Seven members of the victorious World Cup squad will remain in India for the T20I series, including Sean Abbott, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, and Adam Zampa, alongside reserve spinner Tanveer Sangha.

The series kicks off with the first T20I scheduled in Vishakhapatnam on Thursday.

The Australia T20 squad for the series stands as follows: Matthew Wade (c), Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.

Series Schedule:

  • First T20I: November 23, Vishakhapatnam
  • Second T20I: November 26, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Third T20I: November 28, Guwahati
  • Fourth T20I: December 1, Raipur
  • Fifth T20I: December 3, Bengaluru
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp