New Zealand Opt to Bowl First Against Pakistan in Third T20I Match

Sun Apr 21 2024
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

RAWALPINDI: The Michael Bracewell-led New Zealand cricket team won the toss and elected to bowl first against Babar Azam-led Pakistan’s side in the third T20I match at Pindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi on Sunday.

With Pakistan leading the five-match series 1-0 following their dominant victory over the Kiwis in the second match, both teams geared up for a crucial encounter.

Pakistan’s bowling attack showcased its prowess in the previous match, restricting New Zealand to a mere 90 runs in 18.1 overs, which Pakistan chased comfortably with three wickets in hand. The toss was conducted at 7:00 PM (PST) in Rawalpindi, with both captains, Azam and Bracewell, present on the field.

Pakistan made one change to their lineup from the previous match, with Abbas Afridi replacing Mohammad Amir, who made his international comeback after nearly four years.

On the other hand, New Zealand opted for Zak Foulkes and Will O’Rourke in the playing XI, replacing Jacob Duffy and Ben Sears, respectively.

Pakistan Playing XI

Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Muhammad Irfan Niazi, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Abrar Ahmed.

New Zealand Playing XI

Michael Bracewell (c), Mark Chapman, Jacob Duffy, Zak Foulkes, Dean Foxcroft, Cole McConchie, James Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi.


icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp