Peshawar Zalmi Clinch Narrow Victory Over Lahore Qalandars in PSL 9 Clash

Sun Feb 25 2024
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

LAHORE: Peshawar Zalmi on Sunday emerged victorious over Lahore Qalandars by a narrow margin of eight runs in a high-stakes clash during the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL) season nine at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Despite a sensational century from Rassie van der Dussen, Lahore Qalandars fell short of their target of 212 runs, as Peshawar Zalmi’s collective bowling effort sealed the thrilling win. Dussen’s century was not enough to give Lahore Qalandars the first win of the tournament. Dussen remained unbeaten on 105 off 52 balls in a chase of 212. This was Lahore Qalandars’ fifth straight loss of the season, while Peshawar Zalmi registered back-to-back wins.

Peshawar Zalmi’s Batting Against Lahore Qalandars

Opting to bat first, Peshawar Zalmi’s batting prowess was on full display as they dominated the depleted Lahore Qalandars’ bowling attack from the beginning. A formidable opening partnership between Babar Azam and Saim Ayub set the stage for Peshawar Zalmi’s imposing total.

Azam and Ayub combined to amass 136 runs for the first wicket, with Ayub particularly aggressive while Azam provided steady support. Despite Azam’s dismissal for a well-crafted 48, Ayub continued his onslaught, notching a commanding 88 off 55 balls, comprising eight boundaries and four sixes.

The momentum was sustained by Rovman Powell, whose explosive cameo of 46 off 20 deliveries bolstered Peshawar Zalmi’s innings. Mohammad Haris contributed with a brisk unbeaten 12 off five balls, guiding Peshawar Zalmi to a formidable total.

In pursuit of 212, Lahore Qalandars showcased resilience, led by van der Dussen’s heroic unbeaten century. However, despite his valiant effort, Lahore Qalandars ultimately fell short of the target, unable to capitalize on van der Dussen’s brilliance.

Shaheen Shah Afridi spearheaded the Lahore Qalandars’ bowling attack, claiming crucial wickets to stem Peshawar Zalmi’s onslaught. Afridi’s figures of 3/33 were instrumental, supported by Jahandad Khan’s solitary scalp.

Lahore Qalandars Playing XI

Fakhar Zaman, Sahibzada Farhan, Rassie van der Dussen, Shai Hope, Sikandar Raza, Ahsan Hafeez Bhatti, Jahandad Khan, Carlos Brathwaite, Shaheen Shah Afridi (c), Mohammad Imran Jr, Zaman Khan

Peshawar Zalmi Playing XI

Saim Ayub, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Haris, Haseebullah Khan, Rovman Powell, Asif Ali, Paul Walter, Luke Wood, Naveen-ul-Haq, Arif Yaqoob, Salman Irshad

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp