PML-N Offers Presidency, NA Speakership to PPP for Govt Formation

Sun Feb 11 2024
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

ISLAMABAD: In a bid to secure support for the formation of governments in the center and Punjab, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has reportedly offered the presidency, National Assembly (NA) speakership, and Senate chairmanship to the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), a local news channel reported citing sources.

The details emerged from a meeting between the leadership of the PPP and PML-N, aimed at finalizing matters following the February 8 general elections, where no party secured a simple majority.

According to the news channel’s report, PML-N proposed three key constitutional positions to the PPP in exchange for its support in both the center and Punjab. The PPP was offered the positions of president, speaker of the National Assembly, and chairman of the Senate. Additionally, PML-N agreed to concede the Balochistan Chief Ministership to the PPP.

Furthermore, the PML-N also reportedly extended an offer to the PPP for the position of deputy chief minister or senior minister in Punjab.

Both parties have agreed to continue negotiations after discussing the matter in their respective Central Executive Committee (CEC) meetings.

PML-N in Strong Position to Form Govt in Center and Punjab

Former Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah emphasized that the decision to form an alliance with a political party to establish a government in the center would be made by the PPP’s CEC. He noted that Asif Ali Zardari and Bilawal Bhutto would seek the CEC’s opinion regarding the alliance.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Sunday announced the complete and final results of the South Asian country’s General Election 2024 held on February 8.

According to a press statement issued by the ECP, the election results announced for the National Assembly (NA), or the lower house of the parliament, independent candidates secured 101 seats, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) of ex-prime minister Nawaz Sharif secured 75 seats, and the Pakistan People Party Parliamentarians (PPP) of former foreign minister Bilawal Bhutto Zardari got 54 seats.

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan won 17 seats, and the Jamiat Ulama-e-Islam Pakistan (JUI-F) got 4 seats in the country’s national assembly. Pakistan Muslim League got three, Balochistan National Party and the Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party got two seats each, while Pakistan Muslim League (Zia), Majlis Wahdat-e-Muslimeen Pakistan, Pashtoonkhwa National Awami Party Pakistan (PkMAP), Balochistan Awami Party, the National Party and Pashtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party secured one seat each.

The election body announced the result of 262 out of 266 seats for the National Assembly following the South Asian country held general elections on February 8 to elect a new government for the next five-year term. The ECP also postponed voting for one seat due to the death of a candidate.

Leaders from a number of political parties are holding meetings, apparently in the hope of gathering sufficient numbers to form governments in the Centre and the four provinces. A day earlier, Nawaz Sharif, in a public speech, invited all the political parties to sit together and form a government to pull Pakistan out of the crisis.

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp