Group B Semifinal Race: Ireland, Netherlands, UAE Poised for a Tight Battle

Fri Apr 19 2024
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

ABU DHABI: The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in Abu Dhabi will determine which two teams will advance to this year’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Bangladesh.  Ten teams, split into two groups, will vie for the coveted spots. The top two teams from each group will enter the semi-finals, with the winners earning their tickets to Bangladesh.

In Group A, Scotland, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Uganda, and the United States of America (USA) will battle it out. Group B comprises Ireland, the Netherlands, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Vanuatu, and Zimbabwe.

Ireland, Netherlands Frontrunners in Group B

Ireland and the Netherlands are the frontrunners in Group B, while the host nation, UAE, aims to capitalize on home advantage. Ireland, ranked 10th in the ICC Women’s T20I Rankings, seeks redemption after a disappointing T20 World Cup outing last year. The Netherlands, ranked 15th, will kick off their campaign against Vanuatu.

The UAE, ranked 16th, aims to upset the favorites with their home advantage. Vanuatu, newcomers to the tournament, hope to make an impression despite their lack of experience. Zimbabwe, ranked 13th, is another strong contender in Group B, aiming to secure a semi-final spot by defeating Ireland and the Netherlands.

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp